Just the Beginning…

This is just the beginning of a journey that will likely take quite a time investment. I look forward to this phase of life, bettering the quality of our life. I once heard it said “The quality of your life depends upon the space in your life.” Owning an abundance of things, and staying overly busy, filling that space with things that have no greater value than simply owning them, is not going to increase the quality of your life. Now I’m not saying, that I am going to get rid of everything.

Minimalism isn’t about having as little as possible, or doing without useful things. It’s about having enough but not too much. It’s about not being bogged down by things we own. There are two quotes that come to mind.

The first- “The more things you own, the more things own you.”- Chuck Palahniuk, Fight Club

And second- “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful.”- William Morris

I want the space in my life to be only partially full, and with only beautiful and useful things. I want to life a full healthy life with my family, and not be burdened down by useless junk taking over my home!

Follow me and watch for a post later this week for the beginning of the pare down!

Leave a Reply

